Rhetoric Reflection

Prior to taking this particular rhetoric class, I had learned about a few rhetoric concepts such as ethos, pathos, and logos in an english class I took in high school. Because of this previous knowledge, I had my doubts as to why it was important to take this class. However, I have realized that there is much more to rhetoric than simply those three techniques I had learned before.  Rhetoric is the art of persuasion, and it is critical when attempting to convince people to think or act a certain way. It is a skill worth mastering, especially for a student majoring in business.

Being in this rhetoric class, that was meant specifically for direct-admit business students, was a great opportunity because it teaches skills that are critical to the business world, and it allows for connections to be made. One of the things that I learned during my direct-admit seminar is that making new connections is key, and I was able to accomplish this from taking this rhetoric class. I will most likely interact with some of the same people who were in my class this semester, whether it be in other classes or organizations, because we are all business majors. Without taking this class, I never would have met people who are interested in pursuing a career in a similar field as me.

This rhetoric class has also increased my writing skills, as well as speaking skills. The different writing assignments, speeches, and presentations have assisted me in sounding more professional, and I now have more confidence in my abilities. In a major informational session that I went to, I learned that for my specific major it is important to acquire communication skills, and it is necessary to have the ability to work with a team. This class has definitely helped me with these aspects.

Out of all the assignments I completed this semester, I believe the final major project, that included the podcast and the rhetorical analysis, was the most successful. This assignment required us to interview the owner of a business, create a podcast, write a rhetorical analysis, and finally present our findings to the class. This project incorporated many different necessary skills that will be utilized in future careers. This project has prepared us for what is to come after college. Without being enrolled in this class, I could be lacking these qualities that could potentially make me more successful in the career I choose.

Overall, I am glad I enrolled in this class. It has made me more confident in my writing and speaking abilities, and it has better prepared me for the future. I have made relationships and gained skills that will be beneficial to me for the rest of my life. I think the University of Iowa should continue to offer the rhetoric class for direct-admit business students because it teaches important business concepts we will all continue to use. I would recommend this class to anyone who is willing to challenge themselves and learn new beneficial skills.

Leave a Reply

